Waiter Arms

This is what I felt I looked like for most of the Thanksgiving weekend, thanks to Murphy.  It hurt like hell to move my arms past 90 degrees to the point where I couldn’t pick Mac up from the floor.  I had such good intentions of doing another CrossFit workout over the weekend, but didn’t want to shred my biceps into a bazillion pieces. I haven’t felt pain like that for awhile and other than the puking feeling, it puts the pain felt after my first workout to shame. Again, my arms have NEVER had a workout even close to what I did last week.

Finally, 4 days later, I felt somewhat normal again, so I went to CrossFit this morning.  I met Damian, who is the owner of the gym and built like he could run through a wall and the wall would cry. I really liked him though because he made us go through all of the form work first before we were left to the wolves. It ends up being the majority of the same people in the classes I go to, which is really nice because I’m getting used to things, who to ask for help, who to partner up with etc.

 

 

 

Today, after our warmup, which consisted of clean press, jump presses and squats, we did the following workout – for time.

3 sets of each

7 thrusters (a press starting from a squat)
7 pull-ups
7 burpees

5 thrusters
5 pull-ups
5 burpees

3 thrusters
3 pull-ups
3 burpees

I did all of my thrusters with the bar + 10 lbs (equaling about 35lbs).  At first I thought it was going to be too little weight, but I was definitely glad I took Damian’s advice on that one and go with less.  I made it through all of the sets until the last set of 3 before lactic acid crept in and I reintroduced my cheek to the floor a few times ;).  I have a feeling since this was another mostly arm workout that I am going to look like the waiter above for a few days.

I’m going to go finish my “to do” list before I no longer have use of my arms…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment